Wednesday, January 24, 2007


The nominees for the 2006 Academy Awards have been announced! Here are the results of in the animation category:

Best Animated Feature Film:

Pixar Animation Studios
John Lasseter

Happy Feet
Warner Bros.
George Miller

Monster House
Gil Kenan

Best Animated Short Film:
The Danish Poet
Mikrofilm and National Film Board of Canada
Torill Kove

Pixar Animation Studios
Gary Rydstrom

The Little Matchgirl
Walt Disney Pictures
Roger Allers and Don Hahn

A Kedd Production
Geza M. Toth

No Time for Nuts
A Blue Sky Studios Production
Chris Renaud and Michael Thurmeier

Randy Newman's Our Town from Cars was also nominated for Best Original Song.

There is quite a bit of controversy over the fact that two of the nominees for best Animated Picture are not really animated. I'll talk more about this next week.

I will also begin a look at each of the Animated Short subjects (just for you, coolshades!) over the next few weeks.